Golf notes

September 21, 2017


On Tuesday on the Old course 53 members played a par event.

A-grade winner was Freddy Barton playing off a handicap of eight finishing five holes up, followed by Joe Hrdina with four-up on his 15 handicap.

B-grade winner was Lynton Goodwin, handicap of 23, with an impressive six holes up. Andy Forsyth was runner-up with five-up playing off a 24 handicap.

Nearest the pins: eighth Graham Kerr, 12th Geoff Hall, 17th Peter Mansell.

Golfer of the Year: 4 points to Lynton Goodwin, 3 to Andy Forsyth, 2 to Freddy and 1 to Joe.

Balls were given out to those players that managed plus or square.


Four Super Vets played their nine-hole event on the Old course on Wednesday, with Peter Mansell scoring a nice nett 34.

John Dobbie earned a ball with his 37 nett score.

Giuliana’s Prize: Jim Horne.

Next week: back nine, West course at 9.30am.


On Wednesday 47 women played, including visitors from Tocumwal, Druin and Numurkah golf clubs.

The event was sponsored by Kerrie Wilkie Hairdressing.

Stroke and putting was played on the West course and the seventh round of the Monthly Medal and putting.

Monthly Medal winner for the third week in a row was powerhouse Pam Power with a nett 67.

Medal day putting winner was Bev Willis with 28 putts.

A-grade winner was Julie Daniel from Numurkah with a nett 72 playing off a handicap of 14, runner-up was Jenny Tom (16) in with a nett 73 and the putting was won by Bev Willis (28).

B-grade was won by Vanessa Rankin (25) with 69 nett followed by Kerrie Wilkie (30) with 70 nett and Millie Ruigrok’s 31 putts saw her win the putting.

C-grade winner was again Pam Power (45) with 67 nett, runner-up was Jill Sheedy (36) with 70 nett and putting went to Bev Peacock on a countback with 33 putts.

Down the line and Pro Shop balls to 75 nett: Bev Willis, Heather Aston, Marg Rhode, Bev Peacock and Carol Pettit.


Seventy-eight men and eight women competed in the stableford event on Thursday on the Old course.

A-grade winner was Noel Milligan with a great score of 40 points (15) handicap.

B-grade was taken out by Avis Liepaskalins, handicap 19 with 43 points, seven better than his handicap.

Nearest the pins: sixth David Quinane, eighth Ray Stringer, 12th Michael Milovitch and 17th Paul (The Wiz) Wisneiwski.

Four balls were given out to 40 points, three balls to 39 points, two balls to 37 points and one ball to 34 points.

The women’s winner for the day was Joan Greelish, (36) with 41 points.

Edna Wisneiwski aimed straight and long to get both nearest the pins on the day, holes eight and 17.

Two balls to 36 points, and one ball to 33 points.


Monthly Medal and stroke event played on the Old course by 88 men and 16 women.

Medal winner and A-grade winner was John Wiseman (15) with a tidy 69 nett. A-grade scratch winner was Chris Tomlinson (+1) handicap with a score of 79.

B-grade winner was Graham Kerr with a nett 71 playing off his handicap of 21 and B-grade scratch winner was Avis Liepaskalins (19) 91.

Nearest the pins: sixth David Gumbleton, eighth David Wilson (which was also the money hole, Pro Pin), 12th Chris Tomlinson and 17th Jeff Lancaster.

A nett 72 earned four balls, 74 nett three Balls, 77 nett two balls and one ball to 78 nett.

Women’s winner was Helen Barclay playing off 24 to give her a nett 69.

She also won the nearest the pin on the eighth and Gai Mitchelson followed with a win on the 17th.

Two balls went to 73 nett and one ball to 74 nett.


A medley stableford on the West course had 22 players.

Joe Hrdina and Paul Wisniewski sat back comfortably with each of them on 38 points, waited for the results to be read out to find that they had been beaten by Theresia (Big Red) Beard with 39 points.

However Joe and Paul can now be happy that they have three balls each.

Two balls went to Di Pearce and Ray Bill with 35 points

Freddy Barton, Frank Messner Tony Alessi have one extra ball to add to their tally.


A nine-hole event kindly sponsored by Ryan McDiarmid was two-man, alternate shots, foursomes.

Winners were Peter Barrie and Tim Nolan with a combined handicap of four giving them the winning nett score of 40.

Runners-up were Ryan McDiarmid and Ryan Medcraft.

Balls were handed out to all players.

Peter Barrie showed his strength with the longest drive and Mark Lawrence and Max Harrison received the NAGA award.

Next week play is on the back nine of the Old course between 7-8am.

More in The Courier Cobram
Login Sign Up

Dummy text