Back-to-back titles for Barooga

By Cobram Courier

In front of a large crowd of onlookers, Barooga Sports and Wunghnu battled it out in the Division One grand final in the Murray Bowls Division on Sunday.

In very trying conditions, making bowling difficult, Barooga Sports ran out winners, 101-94.

All players are to be congratulated for reaching the grand final and putting on such a great display of bowling in the conditions which prevailed.

The match was close all day but there can only be one winner and Barooga Sports took the trophy for the second year in a row.

Barooga Sports Bowling Club had a very good year with five out of six teams making it to the finals.

Other results


Cobram 14-94 d Tocumwal Golf 4-89

B. Smethurst 26 d C. Philpot 21, P. Quinane 26 d C. Brown 20, D. Quinane 21 lt L. Richard 25, B. Walker 21 lt W. Dowling 23.


Jerilderie 14-62 d Tocumwal Golf 2-59

T. Chaplin 18 d K. Tyrrell 14, L. Gurciullo 20 lt L. Polkinghorne 29, C. Bryce 24 d J. Jones 16.


Tocumwal Golf 14-46 d Strathmerton 0-35

R. Adams 24 d M. Day 22, A. Whiteside 22 d P. Mahoney 13.