Race for Shepparton News Finals MVP is on

By Tyler Maher

It all comes down to this.

The race to be crowned the inaugural Shepparton News Finals MVP will end this weekend as the Murray Football League, Kyabram District League and Goulburn Valley League grand finals take place across the region.

Picola District Football League and Strathmerton star Lance Oswald has one hand on the award after steering his Bulldogs to success at the weekend, but you can throw a blanket over the challengers behind him who could still take out the prize.

Just one vote behind Oswald is Kyabram's Brad Mangan, and if the Bombers are to reclaim their place atop the GVL mountain it is likely the power forward will be influential.

Among the four-vote hopes still in the running for an outright victory are Nathalia's Liam Evans and Echuca's Andrew Walker.

Walker snared all three votes in his side's preliminary final win against Shepparton, while Evans snuck in for one against Congupna.

Both men are capable of tearing a grand final apart and are strong chances to at least join Oswald on the top step of the podium.

The next rung of players have to hope for other votes to fall their way, but can still share Oswald's throne when the dust settles on Sunday evening.

Tongala duo Cam Ilett and Makenzie Ryan, Kyabram's Mick Mattingly, Echuca's Luke McKenna, Nagambie's Anthony Haysom, Nathalia's Bailey Bell and Tallygaroopna's Adam Brassil have all accumulated three votes and would need to be best afield in their respective deciders to catch Oswald.

It would be an especially amazing feat from Haysom, who is taking to the field for just the second time this finals series tomorrow.

Goulburn Valley League

Shepparton v Echuca

3. Andrew Walker (Ech)

2. Jonty Wardle (Shepp)

1. Ruory Kirkby (Ech)

Murray Football League

Nathalia v Congupna

3. Bailey Bell (Nath)

2. Drew Barnes (Nath)

1. Liam Evans (Nath)

Numurkah v Tongala

3. Mitch Price (Num)

2. Jordan Souter (Ton)

1. Alex Williams (Ton)

Kyabram District League

Tallygaroopna v Lancaster

3. Adam Brassil (Tally)

2. Sean Arnold (Tally)

1. Austin Tricarico (Tally)

Picola District Football League

Waaia v Strathmerton

3. Lance Oswald (Strath)

2. Matt Shannon (Strath)

1. Ash Thompson (Waaia)


6: Lance Oswald (Strath)

5: Brad Mangan (Ky), Tom Davies (Lanc).

4: Ash Thompson (Waaia), Liam Evans (Nath), Matt Shannon (Strath), Andrew Walker (Ech).

3: Rhys Free (Roch), Daniel Brock (Stan), Chase Strawhorn (Ren), Cam Wild (Shepp), James Gilligan (Deni), Des Morgan (Deni), Theo Thomas (Strath), Joel O'Dwyer (Ren), Alex Hay (Deni), Michael Herlihy (Num), Curtley Allen (Con), Cam Ilett (Ton), Sam Richardson (Waaia), Mick Mattingly (Ky), Tannar Cerrone (Lanc), Charlie Burrows (Waaia), Luke McKenna (Ech), Anthony Haysom (Nag), Makenzie Ryan (Ton), Lachie Baldwin (Con), Bailey Bell (Nath), Mitch Price (Num), Adam Brassil (Tally).