Nominations open for Spirit of CFA awards

Photo by Rodney Braithwaite

Members of the public are being called on to step forward and nominate CFA members and brigades for the 2022 Spirit of CFA Awards.

The awards will be across nine categories and recognise outstanding contributions made by CFA members and teams to CFA and their communities.

CFA chief officer Jason Heffernan said the Spirit of CFA Awards highlighted the very best of CFA people.

“Our members are the heart and soul of this organisation and are leaders within their own communities,” he said.

“The quality of service and professionalism that our people provide, and the diversity of skill sets, is extraordinary.

“These awards are to recognise those who have gone above and beyond and displayed excellence in the respective categories.”

To be eligible for the awards, nominees must be a CFA Member, demonstrate the CFA values of safety, teamwork, adaptability, integrity and respect, and demonstrate an outstanding achievement and contribution to CFA and the community between January 1, 2019 to March 31, 2021.

Nominations for the 2022 Spirit of CFA Awards will remain open until Tuesday, November 30.

The winners will be announced in May 2022, and will be held simultaneously with the presentation of the 2020 Spirit of CFA Awards which was postponed due to COVID-19.

CFA individuals and teams can be nominated for one or more of the following awards:

Individual awards:

  • Living the Values (Gold Award)
  • Youth Award
  • Seniors Award

Team and individual awards:

  • Inclusion & Fairness Champion Award
  • Excellence in Community Engagement Award
  • Excellence in Inter-agency or Group Co-Operation Award
  • Excellence in Partnership Development Award
  • Excellence in Capability Planning Award
  • Excellence in Innovation Award

Nominations can be made by visiting:

Questions and enquiries can be directed to