MVCA premier division wrap | Round 11

By Tyler Maher

Cobram produced yet another dominant performance to cruise to Murray Valley Cricket Association premier division victory on the weekend.

But what would please skipper Adam De Cicco and his fellow Tiger leaders the most is that once again winning contributions came from the entire squad, not just a few familiar names.

Hosting Cobram-Yarroweyah at Cobram Showgrounds, the Tigers were sent in after the toss and staggered their way to 5-64 early in the piece.

Manny Artavilla and Hugh Hyde righted the ship though, putting together a stand worth 71 runs for the sixth wicket and taking the ascendancy away from the combine.

Hyde (23 from 71 deliveries) played the anchoring role in his partnership with Artavilla (74 from 81) before the latter pushed on alongside Jayanath Silva (24 from 14) to help lift the reigning premier to an imposing 209 all-out.

United was unable to threaten the required scoring rate in reply, with Matt Watson's 36 not out from 78 deliveries the highest score among a total of 8-129.

Jon Frankel snared 3-13 on premier division debut for the Tigers, while Tyron Baden (2-23) also claimed multiple wickets.

For the combine, Stuart Thomson snared 3-49 earlier in the clash with Ayden Latessa (2-34) and Kieran Andrew (2-44) also impressing.

● Deniliquin held off a fast-scoring Nathalia to secure a win at the weekend, needing to take all 10 wickets to halt the Purples’ charge.

The Rhinos notched 183 all-out batting first thanks to Dean Edge (43), Brodie Bennett (35) and Ash Germano (31), but were quickly on the back foot with ball in hand as Nathalia's batsmen took them to task.

Captain Luke Quinn (27) and first-drop Aaron Harding (27) smashed eight boundaries between them to move their side's total along quickly before wickets began to fall in clumps.

The Purples went from 1-55 to 6-75, but were not finished with just yet.

Brodie Ross belted five boundaries — including two maximums — in a quickfire 40 to send some nerves jangling in the field before Nathalia was eventually dismissed for 130 in the 30th over.

Bennett (3-13) and Mandus Venter (3-34) were crucial for the Rhinos, while earlier it was Quinn (3-12), Brayden Summerville (3-24) and Ross (2-29) doing the damage for the Purples.

● Katamatite was in a ruthless mood against Tocumwal, rolling the Bloods for 104 before securing an eight-wicket win in the 19th over of the chase.

Sam Dorsey (4-10), Ash Saunders (54 not out and 2-20) and Tom Casha (2-26) were the stars for the Boosey Creek Tigers, while Andrew Lean (36) and Rahul Thakur (20) dug in with the bat for Tocumwal.