Down to wire

March 15, 2018

Premiers: (back row) Kelsey Lissington and Hayley Geisler (front row) Max Lebner and Clara Lukies.

Success: B-Grade junior champions (back row) Mikael Artavilla-Bennett, Archie Cameron, Ned O'Kane and Tully Kerr (front row) Victoria Laffan, Mia Cameron and Ned Bugge.

In a nail-biting end to the Cobram Lawn Tennis junior competition, the A-grade premiership was decided by the final point.

The Green team, which was undefeated throughout the season, took the 2017-18 title by the barest of margins after a barnstorming run to the finish by Pink.

After a very close first five sets in B-grade, White kicked into gear and ran away from Purple, winning by 15 games.

Club president Matt Ross-Soden presented the trophies and congratulated the junior committee and supporting parents on a great season.

‘‘A particular highlight was the reciprocal visits with Yarrawonga juniors, giving the youngsters a bit of variation to the usual format and a good introduction to tournament and pennant tennis,’’ Ross-Soden said.

The action was watched by a large crowd of parents, grandparents and friends who enjoyed a riveting day of high-quality tennis.

More in The Courier Cobram
Login Sign Up

Dummy text