Club legends pass on legacy

November 09, 2017

Scooped the pool: Vin Toohey.

Club Stalwart: Gerald O'Dwyer.

Barooga Football Netball Club’s recent presentation night saw two club legends honoured by having the top two football awards bestowed in their name.

The senior best and fairest winner received the Vin Toohey Medal and the senior player’s player received the Gerald O’Dwyer player’s player award.

Toohey and O’Dwyer were modest receiving the honours before an audience of 165, which included members of their families.

During the 1950-60 period, when Barooga was a dominant force, Toohey and O’Dwyer were integral players in the successful sides.

Toohey finished his career, which included three years with Cobram, with an outstanding four Murray League Second Eighteen Association and two Picola Football League best and fairest awards, eight Barooga senior best and fairest awards and two Cobram senior best and fairest honours.

He was also a five-time premiership player with Barooga and two-time premiership player with Cobram.

O’Dwyer spent his whole career at Barooga and amassed 325 games, which included two Murray League Second Eighteen Association best and fairest awards and he was a seven-time premiership player.

He also had three-year stint as senior coach (including two premierships).

Both men extended their associations with Barooga by taking on the role of president, where Toohey held the position for three years (1972-74) and O’Dwyer for eight years (1964-71).

Both men are highly regarded as catalysts in the Barooga Football Netball Club becoming the dominant force it was during their time and in the continued success during the 1970s and ’80s in the Picola Football League.

They are also credited with playing a large role in the club’s success when it rejoined the Murray Football League during the early ’90s.

In his acceptance speeches for receiving both awards, James Hazelman highlighted his regard and respect of the legacy Toohey and O’Dwyer had carved for the club.

He said he was proud to be the inaugural winner of both prestigious awards.

More in The Courier Cobram
Login Sign Up

Dummy text