Murray crowns best players - Jess Gledhill

September 21, 2017

Under 17 Leading Goal Kicker Jack Brooks (Cobram).

Under 17s runner-up best and fairest Luca Allen (Cobram).

Cobram footballer Tyron Baden has been voted Most Valuable Player in the Murray Football League as decided by clubs.

Baden was presented with the player of the year award during Sunday night’s vote count at Finley, having played an integral part in his side this season.

He also polled 12 votes in the senior best and fairest count with Cobram’s Sam Gemmill also finishing highly on 15.

Barooga gun forward Brodie A’vard came runner-up in the best and fairest behind Moama’s Rhys Archard on 21 votes, who won his second O’Dwyer Medal.

A’vard collected votes in 11 matches, four of which were best-on-ground performances, and was the Bill Limbrick medallist for best player in this year’s interleague round.

Barooga’s Zane Goodwin took out the reserves leading goal-kicker award with 51 goals while Cobram’s Jack Brooks was given the same honour in the under-17s with 70.

Luca Allen capped off his successful season with the Tigers to come runner-up in the under-17 best and fairest on 25 votes.

In the netball vote count, Cobram’s Lili Murphy was awarded runner-up best and fairest in the under-17s with 29 votes.

Senior vote count leaderboard

Rhys Archard (Moama)25

Brodie A’Vard (Barooga)21

Todd Gallagher (Deni Rams)17

Mitchell Price (Numurkah)17

Sean Robinson (Mulwala)16

Tyrone Downie (Barooga)16

Sam Gemmill (Cobram)15

Riley Bacon (Tongala)15

Nicholas Fothergill (Numurkah)14

Zachary Mihocek (Echuca Utd)13

More in The Courier Cobram
Login Sign Up

Dummy text