Country cricketers rewarded

August 16, 2017

The Riverina boys took out the Bradman Cup award at the NSW Country Cricket night on Saturday. Players are, back from left, Rhys Matheson Griffith, Angus Bolton Leeton, Eddie Keogh Albury, Darcy Irvine Wagga, Harry Rosengren Wagga, Riley Gow Barooga, front are Max Harper Temora, Mark Favell coach, Scott Morris Nathalia and Josh Staines Wagga.

Riley Gow and Scott Morris with the Bradman Cup.

Cricket NSW presented awards to the best players and officials in country NSW during the Country Cricket Annual Dinner at the Cobram Barooga Sports Club on Saturday night.

Local lads Riley Gow from Barooga and Scott Morris from Nathalia were part of the Riverina under-16 team that won the coveted Bradman Cup and they enjoyed the dinner in the company of their successful teammates.

Cricket NSW Country Committee chair Ian Hogg congratulated all the winners following another strong season for cricket in regional and rural NSW.

‘‘The quality of our award winners highlights that cricket continues to flourish right across our state,’’ Hogg said.

‘‘Cricket NSW has a strong, ongoing commitment to cricket in the bush.

‘‘More than $3.7million was invested in competitions, programs and personnel last season, which benefited male and female players of all ages.

‘‘Cricket NSW also continues to support the playing of elite cricket in regional areas.

‘‘The Blues played a Sheffield Shield match at Wollongong after matches were staged at Coffs Harbour, Newcastle and Wagga Wagga over the previous two years.

‘‘Last season, the Sydney Thunder had a particularly successful Border Bash against the Melbourne Stars in Albury,’’ Hogg said.

‘‘A WBBL match for points, followed by a BBL practice match, attracted almost 10000 fans to the Lavington Sports Ground.

‘‘The Thunder BBL team played a practice match against Hong Kong in Albury, while the Sixers played the same opponent in Coffs Harbour.

‘‘And the Plan B Regional Bash saw the Orana Outlaws become the latest country team to triumph at the Sydney Cricket Ground when they took out the second Plan B Regional Bash.

‘‘During a big finals day the Outlaws, Northern Rivers Rock, Newcastle Blasters and Wagga Wagga Sloggers earned the privilege to play off on the hallowed turf of the SCG.’’

Award winners

●Male Player of the Year, Josh Hazlewood Medal: Jordan Moran (Western).

●Female Player of the Year, Alex Blackwell Medal: Lisa Griffith (Western).

●Male Player of the CBA Australian Country Championships: Pat Darwen (Newcastle).

●Kookaburra Youth Country Player of the Year: Blake Macdonald (ACT Southern).

●NSW Country Media Award: Radio 2AY Albury.

●NSW Country Groundsman of the Year: Lionel Billett (Nth Dalton Park Wollongong).

●NSW Country Umpire of the Year: Graeme Glazebrook (Western).

●NSW Country Coach of the Year: Matt Crawley (Western).

More in The Courier Cobram
Login Sign Up

Dummy text