Club members on their bikes for a number of races

May 11, 2017

There was no club racing last Saturday but there was plenty of racing going on elsewhere.

There was no club racing last Saturday but there was plenty of racing going on elsewhere.

Christian McDonald and Heath White travelled to Cootamundra for the annual Haycarters Handicap.

This race attracts enormous entries each year with up to 200 riders competing.

Some of Australia’s top riders attended, making a very classy scratch bunch.

McDonald, riding with the second block bunch, finished out of a place and White retired early with breathing difficulties.

Saturday also saw the Hume Veterans Cycling Club’s George Goodwin Memorial conducted at Benalla.

A series of graded scratch races are contested over a 53km course incorporating the very challenging Lurg hills.

Iain Davidson and the in-form Bernie Gillespie raced without success.

George Goodwin was a life member of Cobram Barooga Cycling Club and along with his wife Audrey were great contributors to the success of the club during their time in the district.

Goodwin is also included in the Sun Tour Hall of Fame, having won the event in 1956.

His fame was further enhanced when some years ago Australia Post struck a postage stamp in his honour.

Mrs Goodwin, at 91 years of age, was in Benalla to present the trophies and prize money.

Sunday saw a 52km handicap event, starting and finishing at Dookie College.

Sixty-one entries were received on an ideal day for racing over the tough Dookie hills.

Brian Long, aged 84, riding solo from limit held the lead until the 20km mark when he was joined by the 27 minute bunch, which included GV’s Don Mintern, who at 78 years of age is still very competitive.

With about 6km to ride, Hume’s Simon Hall attempted a breakaway which he held for about a kilometre, but could not sustain the effort.

With about 3km to travel, Peter McClelland of the GV club, who won the division four scratch race at Benalla on Saturday, broke away from the 10-rider bunch, and with one kilometre to the finish still held a lead of 60m, and looked a certain winner.

The chasing bunch had other ideas and with a sustained effort Geelong rider Kelvin Dyson comfortably won the sprint from John Short of Northern Vets, with Simon Hall in third.

Fourth was Hume president Ashley O’Farrell and Wangaratta’s Laurie Lyster finished fifth.

Cobram Barooga’s Iain Davidson, riding from the 13 minute mark, completed a great race to finish eighth.

The highly anticipated sprint for fastest time looked to be a match race between Cobram sprint sensation Travis Lindhe and Darren Roberts, who has a string of fastest times to his name.

Lindhe, who had a limited preparation, was a little apprehensive about how he would perform, but with a sprint which exceeded 60km/h, he defeated Roberts in comprehensive fashion, taking out the title by three lengths.

Roberts defeated Lindhe on this course two years ago, and Lindhe was keen to turn the tables.

Christian McDonald finished further back in another great ride.

●The Summer Club Championships will be conducted on Saturday, May 13 at 1.30pm.

The women’s and the B- and C-grade events will be contested, with the Open Championship being held on Saturday, June 3.

All club members are urged to attend, to ensure the success of this event; $10 entry, with all proceeds paid as prize money.

McDonald’s encouragement awards will also be presented to worthy recipients.

More in The Courier Cobram
Login Sign Up

Dummy text