Cobram take out the title

March 23, 2017

Cobram divison four premiers: Chris Ward, Jim Burkitt, John Crump, Gerald Kennedy, Col Struthers, Mick Violi, Neville Walsh. Front: Glenda Mann, Frank Wallace.


Cobram’s division four side defeated Barooga Sports in the Murray Bowls division pennant grand final played at Finley Bowling Club last Saturday.

In a close-fought game early, Cobram eventually took control and finished with a 10-shot winning margin 46/36.

John Crump’s rink of Frank Wallace, Gerald Kennedy and Col Struthers took the crown from Barooga’s skip George Brown, winning 28/11.

Jim Burkitt’s rink of Chris Ward, Neville Walsh and Glenda Mann were defeated by Graeme Ashcroft’s rink, 18/25.

The pennant season came to a disappointing end for the division one and two sides, being defeated by Wunghnu and Katandra West respectively in their grand finals played under ideal conditions at Strathmerton.

Cobram one went down in the final ends to Wunghnu, 101/84, with two winning rinks.

Greg Dunn defeated Russell Smith 23/21; Bob Griffiths, who took over the skip’s role following an unfortunate accident to Ray Parks, went down by four shots to Andrew Henderson 18/22; Steve Tatnall, the top skip for the season, defeated Trevor Hosie 31/20; and Gary Carter was defeated by Gary Downie 12/38.

Division two struggled all day against a pumped up Katandra West side, going down 85/106.

Marj McDonald’s rink came from behind early to record the only winning rink 27/20.

Colin McDonald lost to Kevin Minogue 20/31, Andy Reeves lost to Robert Glover 17/33 and Richard Palczak lost to Merv Hannaford 21/22.

Cobram Friday pennant champions will represent Murray Bowls Division in the CGM Region play-offs to decide the region’s representative for the Bowls Victoria state pennant sides championship.

The play-offs are between Central, Goulburn Valley and Murray at Numurkah Golf Bowls Club on Tuesday, March 28, with the state championships to be played at Moama from May 9 to 11.

Cobram’s selected side: Chris Dunne, Marg Cooper, Glen Murphy, Marj Carlisle (s); Bianca Quinane, Glenda Mann, Barb Turner, Brenda Smethurst (s); Joy Mynard, Glenys Walker, Kerry Baldacchino, Marj McDonald (s).

Now that the pennant season is over, all eyes are on the Peaches and Cream tournament to be played over three days at Cobram and Barooga clubs, starting on March 27, and the Edinburgh Shield tournament on Saturday and Sunday, April 8 and 9.

Barooga Sports

The pennant season is over.

No Saturday premierships but one team in a grand final and three others in finals so it wasn’t such a bad season overall.

The fours lost to Cobram by 10 shots last Saturday, but good on them for making it to the final.

A great effort from everyone who contributed to this side during the year.

Trade day this past week was held at Finley RSC where 26 teams fought it out on beautifully prepared greens.

There were no four-game winners nor three-and-a-half, so it was down to three-game winners to fight it out.

In the end two teams were on 57 points, so shots-up decided the winners.

The winning team was from Picola, with Trevor Cobbledick, Bill Agius and Tony Smith finally cracking it for a win with 26 shots up. Runners-up were Ron Amear, Peter Wilson and George Scorgie with 23 shots up.

Best second-game went to Roy Wilson, Geoff Peacock and David Polkinghorne with 12 shots up.

Best third-game went to Roy MacKenzie, Chris Gentle and John Ellis with 19 shots up and best last game winners with 20 shots up were Peter Ware, Peter Russell and John Sullivan.

The NABA Award was won by John Wright, Seig Seiter and Ian Furness.

The jackpot did not go off and is worth $610 this week at Numurkah.

A date for Barooga Sports bowlers to remember is Monday, May 8, which will be the club’s annual general meeting.

Barooga Sports indoor

Results from Wednesday, March 15 saw B. Cranston, M. Mete and J. Toohey the winners.

J. Duncomb, P. Hellis and E. Gordon were runners-up while the resting touchers were J. Toohey, E. Gordon and M. Harrison.

Murray Valley bowls

Grand finals


Cobram 84-4 lt Wunghnu 101-14

G. Dunn 23 d R. Smith 21, G. Carter 12 lt G. Downie 38, S. Tatnall 31 d T. Hosie 20, R. Griffiths 18 lt A. Henderson 22.


Katandra West 106-16 d

Cobram (2) 85-2

K. Minogue 31 d C. McDonald 20, M. Hannaford 22 d R. Palczak 21, R. Glover 33 d A. Reeves 17, D. Williams 20 lt M. McDonald 27.


Berrigan 62-12 d

Tocumwal Golf 60-4

M. Bush 16 lt P. VanHuizen 18, R. Bradbury 39 d A. Seamer 18, M. Rooney 16 lt R. Birthisel 24.


Barooga Sports (4) 36-2 lt

Cobram (4) 46-12

G. Ashcroft 25 d J. Burkitt 18, G. Brown 11 lt J. Crump 28.

More in The Courier Cobram
Login Sign Up

Dummy text