Monthly Medal for ladies on offer

March 15, 2017


Fifty-five starters were on the West course last Tuesday for a stableford.

Jim Ryan (16 handicap) won A-grade with a score of 38 points, three ahead of next best Ray Findlay (13) with 35 points.

B-grade winner was Kevin Ansell (26) with 37 points while Mick Pearce (19) was runner-up with 36 points on count back.

Nearest the pins went to Doug Pocknee on the 5th, Barrie Gaudion on the 13th and Paul Wisneiwski on the 16th.

Balls to 31 points.

Golfer of the Year: four points to Jim Ryna, three points to Kevin Ansell, two points to Mick Pearce and one point to Graeme Landy.


Last Wednesday saw 50 players on the Old course for the first round of the Monthly Medal, Medal Day Putting and Silver Spoon.

The Monthly Medal winner was Carol Pettit (29) with a score of 71 on a count back. The Medal Day Putting winner was Bev Willis (10) who ended the day with 27 putts.

Heather Miller (19) was the A-grade winner with a score of 71, one stroke ahead of Lorraine Fox (24) while the putting went to Bev Willis with 27.

Winner of B-grade was Carol Pettit (29) on count back with 71 who narrowly beat Grace Valente (26). Putting in B-grade went to Jenny Hindson with 30 putts.

In C-grade Betty Oldham (33) was the overall winner with a nett score of 77 which put her one shot clear of Theresia Beard (32) on 78. Winning the C-grade putting was Betty Oldham with 29.

Balls down the line to 74 nett.

Super vets

With a nett score of 37 John Dobbie won last week’s event on the West course.

He won on a count back from Peter Mansell and Bill Hoog.

Giuliana’s prize went to Max Harrison.

Nearest the pin was won by George Hocking.

Next week will be on the Old course, back nine at 8.30am.

Thursday competition

Eighty men and nine women were on the West course for a par event.

In the men’s competition Ray Wallace (13) took out A-grade with 4-up while B-grade was won by John Ellis (22) with 1-up.

Nearest the pins went to Dave Wilson on the 5th, Phil Sefton on the 8th, Lynton Goodwin on the 13th and Ray Bill on the 16th.

Ball run down: four balls to 2-up, three balls to 1-up, two balls to 1-down and one ball to 3-down.

For the women, Edna Wisneiwski (18) was the winner with 2-down.

Nearest the pin went to Jan Curran on the 5th. One ball to 5-down.

Saturday competition

Eighty-five men and 24 women were on the West course for a stableford.

David Walters (12) was the men’s A-grade winner with 41 points and Martin Daniel (20) won B-grade with 37 points.

Nearest the pins went to Greg Dalzell on the 5th, Ashleigh Teagle on the 8th, Paul Wiz on the 13th and Rob Zimmer on the 16th. The pro pin went to Paul Wiz.

Ball run down: four balls to 39 points, three balls to 35 points two balls to 33 points and one ball to 31 points.

For the women, Rowena Wallace (6) was the winner with 35 points.

Nearest the pin went to Donna Hancock on the 5th. Two balls to 32 points and one ball to 31 points.


Norm Elliott with a score of 43-9-34 was the A-grade winner on Sunday, which was sponsored by Bruce Haley.

B-grade was taken out by Max Harrison who scored 52-18-34.

Balls to 39. Nearest the pin went to R. Medcraft on the 6th. Longest drive was won by T. Nolan while the NAGA was won by D. Hocking.

Next week will be on the front nine of the West course on the women’s tees from 7am-8am.

Sunday competition

Thirty-five players were on course for the medley stableford.

The men’s winner was Chris Tomlinson (+2) with 42 points while the women’s event was taken out by Marina Donnellan (25) with 38 points.

Three balls went to 39 points, two balls to 37 points and one ball to 33 points.

More in The Courier Cobram
Login Sign Up

Dummy text