Cobram Barooga on course

March 08, 2017


Last Tuesday, 59 golfers competed on the Old course.

A-grade winner was Colin Rankin (13) with 40 points from runner-up Ray Findlay (13) on 37 points.

B-grade was won by Bruce Manning (28) with 40 points ahead of runner-up Mick Pearce (20) 39 points.

Nearest the pins: 8th Marti Cox, 12th Tony Hardy, 17th Lynton Goodwin. Balls to 34 points.

Golfer of the Year: four points Colin Rankin, three points Bruce Manning; two points Mick Pearce; one point Karle Bishop.


The Lady President’s Opening Day individual novelty event was played on Wednesday by 58 players on the West course.

A-grade winner was Gai Mitchelson (14) with 44 points countback from runner-up Helen Adkins (22) on 44 points.

B-grade was won by Jenny Hindson (25) with 51 points from runner-up Grace Valente (25) 46 points. Betty Oldham (32) won C-grade with 41 points countback ahead of runner-up Di Pearce (37) on 41 points.

Nearest the pins: 5th Marg Wallace. Nearest the line front nine: Heather Miller; back nine: Bev Willis.

Super vets

Wednesday’s winner was Peter Mansell with balls going to Peter Buller and Max Harrison.

Nearest the pins: Max Harrison. Giuliana’s prize: Bill Hoog.

Thursday competition

Thursday’s stableford on the Old course attracted 77 men and nine women.

Men’s A-grade wnner was Michael Mitchelson (10) with 42 points, while B-grade was won by David Bentley (36) with 37 points countback.

Nearest the pins: 6th Freddy Barton, 8th Kevin Rose, 12th DL Woods, 17th Bernie O’Hare.

Ball run down: four balls to 38 points; three balls to 37 points; two balls to 35 points; one ball to 33 points.

The women’s event was won by Edna Wisneiwski.

Nearest the pins: 8th Terry Mentha, 17th Kate Gadsby.

Balls: two balls to 34 points; one ball to 30 points.

Saturday competition

A par event saw 98 men and 21 women on the Old course.

A-grade winner was Barry Gook (12) 4-up and B-grade winner was Adrian Kirk (17) 3-up countback, while C-grade was won by John Capp (20) 4-up.

Nearest the pins: 8th Ray Wallace, 12th Troy Schlink, 17th Graham Chapman. Pro pin: Ray Wallace.

Ball run down: four balls to 3-up, three balls to 2-up, two balls to square, one ball to 3-down.

The women’s winner was Rowena Wallace (6) 1-up.

Nearest the pins: 6th Bev Willis, 12th Ruth Messner. Balls: two balls to square, one ball to 2-down.Slomen

A field of 16 players competed on Sunday, with the A-grade prize going to Ryan McDiarmid 41-8-33, while B-grade was won by R. Hart 48-12-36.

Balls to 38: R. Smith, P. Barrie, R. Medcraft, B. Hayley.

Nearest the pins: 16th Peter Barrie. Longest drive: Yappy Oldham. NAGA: Tim Nolan.

Next week: front nine, Old course.

Sunday competition

A medley four-ball best-ball multiplied stableford was played on the West course on Sunday.

Winners were Ray Bill and Joe Hrdina with 69 points ahead of runners-up Trevor Sutton and Barry Kennedy on 67 points.

In third place was Bryan Eddy and Marcel Papa with 60 points ahead of fourth-placed Lorraine and Ivan Fox on 56 points countback.

Nearest the pins: 5th David Gumbleton and Jenny Tom, 13th Joe Hrdina and Shirley Turner.

Balls down the line to 51 points.

More in The Courier Cobram
Login Sign Up

Dummy text