Cobram Barooga pinch win

March 02, 2017


Tuesday’s stroke on the West course was contested by 73 starters.

A-grade winner was Joe Hrdina (11) 70 nett from runner-up Geoff Hall (10) 71 nett.

B-grade was won by Frank Messner (16) 70 nett ahead of runner-up Andy Forsyth (22) 72 nett. C-grade went to Bernard Cashman (25) 69 nett from runner-up Kevin Ansell (26) 74 nett.

Nearest the pins: fifth John Kerr, 13th Ray Wallace, 16th R. Stead. Balls to 75 nett.

Golfer of the Year: four points: Joe Hrdina; three points: Frank Messner; two points: Geoff Hall; one point: Freddy Barton.


The Old course was the venue for Wednesday’s stroke event with 52 players.

A-grade winner was Helen Barclay (23) 74 nett countback and the B-grade winner was Rhonda Rettke (29) 71 nett.

Nearest the pins: eighth Vanessa Rankin, 17th June Whiteman.

Down the line balls: three balls to 74 nett, two balls to 78 nett, one ball to 81 nett.

Super vets

Noel Duns had a good day’s golf on Wednesday, winning the competition and nearest the pin.

Balls to 39: Norm Elliott, Peter Mansell, Bill Hoog, Peter Buller. Giuliana’s Prize: George Hocking.

This week: Old course, back nine at 8.30am.

Thursday competition

Thursday’s par event on the West course attracted 85 men and six women.

Men’s A-grade winner was Vic Willmoth (16) 3-up countback, and B-grade was won by Graham Chapman (21) 2-up countback.

Nearest the pins: fifth John Parkinson, eighth John Hodges, 13th Phil Sefton, 16th Freddy Barton.

Ball run down: four balls to 3-up; three balls to 2-up; two balls to square; one ball to 2-down.

The women’s winner was Denise Harrison (35) 2-down. Nearest the pins: fifth Edna Wisneiski.

One ball to 3-down.

Chicken run

Friday’s winner was Trevor Sutton with 16 points.

Saturday competition

A field of 98 men and 22 women competed on the West course in a stableford.

A-grade winner was Arnie Manual (12) with 38 points. B-grade winner was Ryan McDiarmid (18) on 39 points. C-grade was won by Mick Pearce (21) with 35 points.

Nearest the pins: 5th Ash Kennedy, 8th Ash Kennedy, 13th Glen Rogers, 16th Chris Tomlinson. Pro pin: Glen Rogers.

Ball run down: four balls to 37 points, three balls to 36 points, two balls to 34 points, one ball to 32 points.

Women’s winner was Jenny Hindson (29) with 34 points. Nearest the pins: fifth Steffi Vogel.

Two balls to 33 points, one ball to 30 points.


Sunday’s A-grade winner was Ryan Medcraft 42-9-33 and B-grade winner was Norm Elliott 44-11-33.

Play-off next month for medal.

Balls to 38: B. Haley, J. Dobbie, B. Oldham and M. Harrison. Nearest the pins: 12th S. Feldtman, 17th John Dobbie. Longest drive: R. Medcraft. NAGA: A. Feldtman.

Next week: back nine, West course, 7-8am.

Sunday competition

A four-ball best-ball stableford was played.

Winners were Susette and Laurie Kreutzer with a runaway score of 46 points ahead of runners-up John Dare and Don Jackson with 45 points.

Two balls to Heather and Doug Miller with 43 points, one ball to 42 points: Paul and Edna Wisneiski, Lorraine Heenan and Karle Bishop.

YSM Pennant finals

Held at Cobram Barooga on February 26.

Results, division one: Cobram Barooga won the day from Jubilee, with an exciting play-off which went to the 21st hole. Chris Tomlinson sinking the putt for par to seal this victory.

Mooroopna had a solid win in division two with an outright win of 5-0 against Benalla.

More in The Courier Cobram
Login Sign Up

Dummy text