Club’s top photographers awarded

February 24, 2017

Best of the year: Winner of 2016 Photographic Print of the Year, The Max Pascoe Award Maureen Arthur of Tocumwal stands with award judge Robert Pyne and runner-up David Stillard of Barooga.

Great night: Other winners on the night were Sue Brown runner-up Open Aggregrate, Steve Zonnavolt winner Open Aggregrate, Maureen Arthur winner of Ron Cooper Award, Rae Bush Novice Aggregrate winner, Cathryn Jones winner Novice Monochrome and Bruce Keir winner Novice Colour.

Finley and District Camera Club president Maureen Arthur of Tocumwal has scooped the major awards for 2016 at the club’s February 9 meeting.

Mrs Arthur won the prestigious Max Pascoe Award for the Print of the Year — a black and white print of a paddle steamer, which topped Barooga photographer David Stillard’s colour print of a local rodeo.

The award was judged by Robert Pyne of Yarrawonga, who had won Corowa Landcare Best 2015 Photograph, and was president of the Yarrawonga Camera Club which is now in recess.

Mrs Arthur also won the Ron Cooper Award for best group of digital images on a USB stick with a variety of bird images; this award was judged by Bernard Clancey of Deniliquin.

Other notable winners were Steve Zonneveldt in the Open Aggregate class, with runner-up going to Sue Brown.

The Novice Aggregate went to Rae Bush with Cathryn Jones and Bruce Weir taking out the minor placings.

●The club’s next outing is the Thompson’s Beach Motorcycle, Sand and Water Photographic Afternoon on Sunday, February 26 with Benalla Camera Club from 3pm.

The club is seeking models for the casual and swimwear shoot.

Anyone interested in being a model should phone Barry Bennett on 58734267.

The afternoon will conclude with a barbecue dinner.

More in The Courier Cobram
Login Sign Up

Dummy text