Doyle claims round in cycling series

February 22, 2017

The sixth and final round of the McDonald’s Super Time Trial series was conducted on Saturday over a new course of 15.2km, resulting in a win for Michael Doyle with a time of 26 minutes.

His younger brother Andrew finished two seconds in arrears on handicap with a time of 20.20.

His actual time was 23.24 min.

Third place went to Stephen Gemmill 28.13 (20.27).

Heath White, who did not ride on the day, had accumulated enough points (39) to be crowned the overall winner of the series, closely followed by young Shepparton lad Nick Torney (34).

Torney has shown massive improvement during the series and could have a good future in the sport.

His time was 24.08 (21.19).

Numurkah giant Bob Nichols was third with a point score of 31.

A total of $800 was allocated to prize money and was paid out to 10th place, with a large perpetual trophy presented as well. White was a very proud man when accepting his award for one of the two prestigious races conducted by the club.

The other event is the George Goodwin Memorial which will be conducted later in the year.

Very windy conditions prevailed and made riding difficult, particularly on the homeward journey.

Several riders had gear trouble, particularly Steven ‘Snake’ Hargreaves, who was hampered by a broken cable.

Thirty-four riders competed during the series, which contributed to the event being such an outstanding success.

Competitors from Numurkah, Toolamba, Shepparton, Finley, Nathalia, Jerilderie, Cobram and Barooga all contributed to this success.

It is heartening to see young and old mixing together in the sport, with an influx of juniors racing lately. Ages range from 13 to 65.

●Saturday’s results were:

Michael Doyle first, Andrew Doyle second, Stephen Gemmill third, Gary Smith fourth 25.11 (20.34), Dermot Nichols fifth 25.16 (20.59), Terry Walmsley sixth 24.33 (21.06), Travis Lindhe seventh 21.07 (21.07) and fastest time, Bob Nichols eighth 27.32 (21.09), Sharen Parmley ninth 29.16 (21.18), Nick Torney 10th 24.08 (21.19), Rene Mol 11th 28.07 (23.08), Liam White 12th 35.54 (21.43), Gifford Crosthwaite 13th 25.43 (21.50), John Hyde 14th 29.23 (22.43), Kattarina White 15th 31.53 (22.55), Steven Hargreaves 16th 29.24 (23.08), Wayde Foster 17th 31.10 (23.10), Kay Huggins 18th 31.19 (23.11).

●Top 10 places for the series were: Heath White 39 points, Nick Torney 34, Bob Nichols 31, Kay Huggins 30, Andrew Doyle 29, Rene Mol 28, Mick Doyle 28, Sharen Parmley 28, Bernie Gillespie 25 and Stephen Gemmill 21.

Tully Lyster of the McDonald’s Group is to be thanked for again sponsoring the event. Thanks also to all the people who helped with road safety duties .

●Heath White was placed ninth in inter club racing at Wagga Wagga on Sunday in the first race of the Riverina series.

●Next week’s race will be held in Hughes St, Barooga, at 1.30pm.

More in The Courier Cobram
Login Sign Up

Dummy text